Thursday, January 29, 2009

Pictures and more pictures

Today I realized I could print out those layouts I blogged about on the 19th on my other blog, since we bought ink last week. We hadn’t had ink in over a year so that’s why it took me so long to realize that. LOL So, that was my picture of the day today…a picture of my wall with my newly framed layouts on it. :)

365day29



Yesterday I took the girls to the dentist as we all had app'ts. It was Kaylee's first time and by the time I was done and she got on the chair, she was freaked and didn't want to sit down. She did for a tiny bit, jsut enough time for the woman to take a peek at her teeth and show her what the tools do. After we got home we started eating supper (fried chicken and taters from Sobeys) and on her second bite, Kristen lost one of her bottom teeth that had only bee loose for a few days! So I chose to use 2 pictures yesterday for my 365. :)

365day28


365day28-2


Here are the last 2 365 layouts I've done!


365week3sample


365week4losample

Monday, January 26, 2009

Sicky Poo

Kristen is sick again today. She didn’t feel well the night before last then that night when I went to bed she got up to use the bathroom and ended up throwing up. She did it again yesterday morning too so I kept her home for the day. She seemed okay when she went to bed last night, she just had no appetite, but then again this morning she says she’s still not feeling well so I kept her home again. I’m just glad I don’t have to go out in the -18 weather to take her to school, so I am more than happy to keep her home! LOL Hopefully she’ll be able to go to school tomorrow! She was my 365 picture yesterday. :)

365day26

Monday, January 19, 2009

{Icky weather, but a good day!}

We got snow and freezing ice pellets last night that turned into rain this morning so the roads are a mess...really slippery, so school was canceled. Kristen and Kaylee both slept in. We put a TV in Kaylee's room yesterday, only to keep her occupied for a bit in the mornings because she wakes up so darn early (5:40am) but I think last night she turned it on and watched it for a bit because she NEVER sleeps in until 6:30 like she did today. The only reason she woke up then was because Barry woke her up by opening her door. He saw light coming from underneath and thought she was awake, but it was just her nightlights (yes, she has 2 nightlights). Kristen woke up at 7:10am and might have slept later if she didn't fall out of bed. LOL Here's my Day 19 picture that I posted on my project365 blog.

365day19



Oh! On Friday Barry picked up a nice new desk from Staples so we could set up our old desktop for Kristen to use. She's always asking me to go on my laptop so I figured it was time to get it out. Saturday was spent reformatting the hard drive and reinstalling stuff on it. Just the bare minimum though as the thing only has 128Mb of RAM and an 8GB hard drive! LOL We're going to look into getting a bit more RAM, but it only takes up to 512Mb, so it's never going to be lightning fast. Eventually we'll get a new tower for her. We're going to get a flat screen monitor soon though as the one we have now is huge and takes up way too much desk space. Anyway, here's the pic of the desk with computer and printer on it that I used for Day 16!

365day16

Thursday, January 15, 2009

Renos

So here's a disappointment...that DS game I got Kristen for Valentine's Day came the other day...or I should say the case came...when I took it out of the Amazon box (which had no damage) the game case was damaged a bit and wasn't wrapped in clear cellophane so I opened the case...there were the manuals, but no freakin' game! Ugh! So I did a return claim on Amazon and they said they'd send me a replacement and I could just send the case back. Got an e-mail yesterday that they didn't have another one to send me so they were just going to refund my money instead. I still have to find out if I need to return the empty game case though. So today when I take Kaylee for her check-up on her ears, I'll see if I can get the game at the electronics department there, which I guess I should've done in the first place.

So Kev & Lynda have started coming over to fix up the house for when we sell it in the spring. The day before yesterday Kev plastered the holes in the walls of the family room (Barry's bedroom) and painted the ceiling. Today they are coming over and he is going to sand the walls then paint them (just plain white). Here's a picture from my 365 that I took the other day.

365day13


Here is my 365 layout for week 2!


365week2losample

Monday, January 12, 2009

Snow snow snow!

Yep, we got more snow yesterday and then it is snowing lightly right now! I can’t wait for this winter to be overwith! Only 3 more months to go. LOL I wouldn’t care so much if Kristen wasn’t in school and I didn’t have to drive her to and from every day! This was my “picture of the day” yesterday for project 365.

365day11

Sunday, January 11, 2009

Shopping

I was on Amazon and saw they had an ice blue Nintendo DS with case and Brain Age game, but there was only one left so I had to act quick. I saw this one when I was buying Kristen’s but she wanted the silver one instead, so when I saw it on Amazon, I decided to get it for myself! I think it’ll be fun playing Mario Kart with Kristen and doing the Pictochat thing. Since we already have the Brain Age game, my friend Mel offered to buy it from me. I think the case is cute! It’s supposed to be here later this week I think. Can’t wait! I also bought Kristen her Valentine’s Day present. Besides the Junie B. Jones and the Mushy Gushy Valentime book I got for her a few weeks ago, I bought Super Princess Peach for her DS. It looks like a really cute game and since she loves being a princess, I thought she’d love this game too. Now to figure out what to get Kaylee for Valentine’s Day…

I am doing this thing called Project 365 where you take a picture each day for a year. Since I'm a scrapper, not only do I do that, but each week I'll do a layout using the pictures then at the end of the year, I'll make a Shutterfly book. You'll be able to see each day we did something significant! It took me a bit of thinking to figure out how I'm going to do my layouts because I want them to look different, but the same style. I finally figured out how I am going to do them! I bought this QP album from Sweet Genevieve, (made using her ColorSplash items) and because the pages aren’t textured and the titles are just on plain white, it’s easy to move around photos, add your own titles, etc. A bonus is that the album comes with a pre-made Shutterfly cover! Easy peasy!

365week1losample

I just thought of something else…this album will be perfect when I make my ILs another Shutterfly album for Christmas next year! They absolutely loved the one I made them last Christmas so I said I’d make another one for them next year too!

I made a blog specifically to show off my daily photos and weekly layouts. If you wanna take a peek, go to www.jennilyndesigns.com/365!

Thursday, January 1, 2009

Happy New Year!

What a week! So I mentioned in my last post about the power outage we had because of snow and high winds....well Christmas Eve morning the power went out AGAIN! The power company said it was because of bad weather conditions but seriously, it wasn't bad since the last outage on Monday! Anyway, by the time Kaylee woke up from her nap it was time to go to the ILs as we usually do on Christmas Eve so we just stayed there until 7:45 or so and looked at the lights on the way home, trying to drag it out to give it more time. When we got home at something to 9, the power was back on and had only been on for about 45 minutes. Good thing we went to look at the lights! LOL The power went out again around 10 that night but came back on after 5 minutes. I'm sure lots of people here in Nova Scotia hate the power company now. LOL


So Christmas morning went pretty well. The girls got up pretty early as usual, but Santa left a stocking in each of their rooms to keep them occupied for a bit longer. Around 7 we took a shower and got ready to go downstairs and see what Santa brought them. While they looked at their stuff DH got up so we could start watching (& recording) them open their presents, which took all of 40 minutes. After a bit of cleaning up, Barry and I opened our presents. We got a lot of nice stuff, but the one thing I love was from Barry. A beautiful white gold and diamond snowflake pendant (with a fine box chain necklace). I can't find a pic of it online, but here it is from the flyer showing it. I love snowflakes-as long as they aren't accumulated on the ground-so this was perfect! He was so proud of himself :)


snowflakependant


I also got a 250GB Western Digital My Passport Essential portable hard drive from my ILs. We are going to use my other one (not a portable one) for our PVR (satellite receiver with a hard drive) so we can dump recorded movies and stuff we want to keep onto it without using up the space on the PVR. It'll make it easier to find the shows we need to watch without having to scroll through a lot of shows.


wdharddrive


After lunch the ILs came and got the girls to take them to see my niece for a bit then take them to their house where Barry and I would go later. We settled down to watch Polar Express since Barry doesn't get to see many Christmas movies because he works so much, and we ended up falling asleep, thus being a tad late for dinner. MIL said dinner was at 4, but to be there a bit early...we arrived at 4:10. Not terribly bad, especially since supper wasn't actually ready until about 4:30. It was a good dinner and it was nice to have Barry's grandfather there as well.


On Boxing Day we packed up and headed to my parents house an hour away (hopefully the last time we'll have to do that since next year we might be living there!) and when we got there, my Dad handed me a few cards..one from my grandmother with a bit of money for us and the girls, and one from my grandfather. I was expecting some money because he always gives us some every year, but when I opened it there was a $5000 cheque in there! I was stunned to say the least...I just kept asking "what?"..."what?". I didn't understand why it was that much money. I guess he wanted to give all his grandkids their inheritance money before he passed on so he can see us enjoy it. This was perfect timing because we know we'll have some expenses coming with fixing up this house to sell then fixing up the new house and buying new furniture or whatever.


Mom, my sister and I went out shopping for 5 hours on Saturday! Some of the gifts Mom got for us had to be exchanged, but because most stores weren't doing returns or exchanges that day, she was just buying us new stuff and will do the returns later. She got each of the girls a pair of shoe/sneakers at Payless and a Baby Alive Baby Go Bye Bye doll for Kaylee. I got Kristen a snowman Webkinz and a Bratz microphone for Kaylee since she loves to pretend she's giving a concert.


So my grandfather said to buy something fun with the money, so I bought Kristen a Nintendo DS (silver), a starter kit with case and car charger (like the one on the left but the earphones are different) and 2 games, Brain Age (for me really) and Mario Kart. When we went out yesterday I also got her Super Mario Bros. because I knew it'd be fun. We can't really rent DS games here to check them out before buying so you have to go by what's on the back of the box and what you see online a lot of the time.


I've been wanting a compact camera that I can pop in my purse, so I bought a Canon SD770 IS, case (red of course!) and a 1GB card. Barry was angry when he found out I'd bought another camera, but I've been telling him for a while that I wanted one, so it shouldn't have been a surprise!


canonsd770is1


As I mentioned above, I took the girls to the mall again yesterday to not only get Kristen a new game, but I wanted to get something for Barry and since he pretty much has all the gadgets he needs, I thought I'd get him the documentary series called Long Way Round with Ewan McGregor and Charley Boorman. We just finished watching their second documentary Long Way Down last week so I thought he'd like to see the other one. We started watching it when we had our fondue after the girls went to bed last night and finished after episode 4 of 10 at about 12:45am. At least this way Barry actually stayed awake till midnight!


Normally at midnight I go and take a picture of each of the girls sleeping, but it didn't turn out that great this year...I went upstairs to take pictures and people outside were doing some fireworks which woke up Kristen (she wakes up for nothing but fireworks or the power going out) and started talking, which woke up Kaylee who started crying. She went back to sleep quickly so I got a picture of her sleeping, but I just got a picture of Kristen while she was awake...you know, capturing the moment and stuff. I'll definitely have to journal in length about that when I do my layout. LOL Here are the pics I took:



So that was our Christmas and our New Years...one for the books that's for sure! Here are some pics of our holiday!



I've done one lone layout since my last post...another template from the SSD Cookie Exchange.



Hope you had fun reading my book! LOL Happy New Year! I'll be taking down all the decorations after the girls go to bed tonight :(