Tuesday, December 29, 2009
It's almost over :(
Monday, December 14, 2009
Playing catch-up
Check out this layout I made the other day...I just love that little picture of Marlie when she was little! I got it off the SPCA website since we never had her as a tiny kitten and I knew it just had to be scrapped!
Friday, November 27, 2009
New camera and Christmas decor!
I think that's about it from me this rainy November afternoon...my girls will be going with my ILs overnight tonight so I'm getting my eyebrows waxed later on, then Barry and I will be going out for supper (nowhere special) and to go see 2012!
Tuesday, October 20, 2009
Long time!
A few things have happened in the past month and a half...on October 17th we adopted a kitten (4 months old) from the SPCA named Cricket. She is so cute and cuddly and very playful! Now to teach her not to scratch the furniture or get up on the tables! I took her to the vet for a check-up this afternoon and the vet says she looks wonderful and the sneezing she has will go away soon, just like a regular human cold. She also got her rabies shot too and she was so brave! Not a peep out of her!
Here's a video of her chasing her tail yesterday LOL
And some icky news...my Rebel XT that I only got a year and a half ago suddenly stopped working on Friday night so I took it in to the local camera store to be looked at. The guy says he can send it away for an estimate and that it'll probably be $300, definitely more than $200, to get fixed. :( Ugh! We don't have the money for that! On the Visa it goes I suppose :(
Last weekend and tomorrow my ILs came up to help with the building of our 10x12 shed. Hopefully it'll be done soon...it's been 5 months since we've been here and our back room is full of stuff that needs to go in it!
On Friday DH & I have app'ts in the city and since there's no school that day, my ILs are going to take the girls for the weekend. DH is taking the day off, so it'll be 2 whole days without the girls! I think we're going to go out to the movies (maybe to see Zombieland?) and hopefully we can do some hanging out with my brother & SIL when we normally can't!
That's it for me...see you in a few weeks! LOL
Wednesday, September 9, 2009
9-09-09
That’s it for me on this cool September day! Barry and I are off to the movies tonight! Not sure what we’re going to see…either Halloween 2 or Final Destination I think. Either way, it’ll be nice just to get out of the house without kids for a few hours.
Wednesday, September 2, 2009
Kaylee's birthday
Tomorrow is the first day of school…yeehawww!! LOL I hope I get some good pictures, but I don’t have any second chances when she’s getting on the bus…fingers crossed! We’re off to the Shubenacadie Wildlife Park with my sister, nephews and mother soon…have a great day!
Tuesday, September 1, 2009
My baby is 4!
We arrived at the hospital at 7:50am and got admitted and sent to a birthing room to get ready. Once the anesthetist was ready to go, they brought me into the OR and gave me an IV (only took him one try!) and then gave me the spinal which hurt like h*ll, especially since he had to do it three times! Even Barry got woozy as he saw how big the needle was so they got him to sit down on the floor with his head between his legs and gave him some cranberry juice.
I’m still dealing with the pain in my back and I feel like I’m being squeezed because of my milk coming in. I’m hoping some of it is just exhaustion and will go away once I get some actual sleep. Only getting 3 hours of sleep a night for a week can’t be good on anyone!
As a fainter myself, I of course wasn’t feeling too hot so they gave me an oxygen mask, a cold cloth on my forehead and a towel around the top of my head. The whole time I just laid there with my eyes closed. They kept asking if I was okay, which I was, but I was really tired all of a sudden. I didn’t feel them working on me, but could feel if they moved my legs etc.
Finally, they took the baby out and the anesthetist said to Barry “Oh it’s a girl, did you know that?” and Barry said “no” with a bit of a laugh. As soon as they said that I started crying. I just knew it was a girl! We have a little mini-video of them cutting the umbilical cord.
I was nauseous for the first 24 hours or so and couldn’t keep anything down, but I was able to get up out of bed and walk to the bathroom around 17 hours after the surgery. I wasn’t able to take pain meds as they made me sick, so all I took was extra strength Tylenol and the nurses thought I was doing so awesome with just that!My back, shoulders and arms were really really sore the whole time I was there so I didn’t sleep very well. Didn’t sleep well last night either with the thought of getting my hives back. I took a Claritin though so I did get a few, but they weren’t itchy. I think that is the extent it’ll go (hopefully!)
Breastfeeding didn’t go too well so we decided to formula feed and supplement with breast milk so we rented a pump.
Overall, it wasn’t the best experience, but, it was all worth it to have my little girl! Kristen keeps kissing her, which is nice, but she also keeps telling her to “shhh” and “shut up” when she makes a tiny bit of noise. Not good! We’re not sure how she’s going to deal with it, but I’m assuming she’ll be jealous of all the attention we’re giving the baby.
What a time that was! I'm so glad to be over that part of our lives and continuing to the next part, watching them grow and learn and not have to deal with spit up, diapers, middle of the night feedings, etc. anymore. (save for those times I have to watch my new niece/nephew due in December) :)
Happy birthday my sweet girl! Mommy loves you very much!
Wednesday, August 12, 2009
Sleepover
Here she is just before leaving to go to her friends house with her packed stuff. The clothes aren't hers, they are her friends. When she went over there earlier in the day she just had a bikini so she got some of her friends clothes to wear for a bit.
This evening I think I am off to the walk-in clinic with another bladder infection. :( I just don't know why I keep getting them! I do everything it says to avoid getting them (besides drinking tons of water) so I'm not sure what else I can do to stop getting them! At least this one isn't too bad...I mostly feel like I have a full bladder about a half an hour after voiding, but no burning or anything.
Monday, August 10, 2009
Pooper :(
On the 25th Barry got a new tattoo. Well, an outline of one. It cost $340 just to do that, so the rest of the shading and color will have to wait! He designed it himself :)
This weekend is a long weekend here in Canada (Natal Day) so we’re going over to my parents house this weekend to have a little family get-together with my immediate family. I hope it’s a nice day so the kids can play outside while we sit under the gazebo to drink & chat!
Saturday, July 18, 2009
2 weeks already?!
Last Saturday we had our housewarming party and even though not everyone we invited showed up, the most important people in our lives did, so that's what's important I guess. :) My BFF Mel (KeeMacKayMom in the digi world) drove for 3 hours with her hubby and 2 of her kids just to come visit us! It was so nice to see her again. Hopefully next time we can do something fun like shopping or go to the park!
Tomorrow DH, my dad & brother are going to my grandmothers to get the extra fridge she has in her basement. We need a bit more freezer/fridge space for extra things and she's selling it to us for $250 I think. Can't wait to be able to buy more than 1 loaf of bread at a time! LOL
Saturday, July 4, 2009
Oh my goodness!
We’re stilling getting stuff arranged here, slowly but surely! I finally got the bed rails to my set a week and a half ago. The bed is SO high! We have a bunch of pictures to hang up, but we are so indecisive on where, plus now the frames don’t really match with the interior of the house! We have bought some new pictures for the downstairs, which we LOVE but aren’t sure where to put them because there is SO much empty space on the wall! We also got a few for the kitchen yesterday which are awesome!
Last weekend Barry got the pads for the top of the cement slab (where a shed used to be) and got the blow up pool and gazebo up too.
We are having our housewarming party next Saturday so I have a lot to plan for it! I have a lot to do around the house as well! I hope everything gets put to where it should go soon!
Friday, June 12, 2009
It's about time
Saturday I went to WalMart to pick up some stuff and lunch and by the time I got back, the internet and phone was installed, Sears was there to deliver the appliances and my brother, his wife, my sister & her 3 boys and my mom were at the house! Talk about chaos! LOL
Slowly we’ve been taking stuff out of the boxes, putting up decorations and buying new things that we need. I’d say we are about 90% moved in to our house. We still need to make a shed and possibly buy a gas insert for the fireplace and some other little things like curtains for the windows, but we’re doing pretty good for being here only 2 weeks! The first picture is the truck at the old house…still haven’t gotten around to taking a picture of the outside of our new one.
One exciting thing that happened last week is one of Kristen’s top front teeth has started coming in! For those who have known me for a few years, you know that Kristen lost her front teeth in an accident in February of 2006, so we are VERY excited that they are finally coming in! Now I wish the 2 bottom ones she lost earlier in the year would start coming through! I don’t remember it taking this long for teeth to come in when I was a kid!
This morning I woke up to Kaylee whining for me to wipe her bum so when I finally gave in and got up to do it, I looked at the clock and it said 7:28! Normally I get up just before 7 so I can make Kristen’s lunch and do her hair before she leaves for the bus stop (just one house over) at 7:25. So yeah, she missed the bus. LOL I got us all ready and dropped her off at school even before her bus got there I think! At least at this school it has a roundabout in the parking lot so you are allowed to drop off your child and go, unlike her old school.
Here’s a picture of the new family cards I ordered from Vistaprint the other day. The dotted line around it is just because it was a screenshot from when I was editing the text. Rather than needing a pen & paper when I need to give out our address, phone number, etc., I just give out one of these! They were free too (besides shipping) so it was a good deal! I also got a self-inking rubber stamp with our new address so it’ll be easy to address Christmas cards.
Tonight I’m going to my mom’s to set up and price all my yard sale stuff and staying overnight so I won’t have to get up so early for the yard sale tomorrow. My sister is staying overnight too as she has some stuff in the yard sale as well. Whether it’s raining or sun shining, it’ll go on as Mom has a huge double car garage to shelter the stuff. I hope to make a good amount of money as I don’t want any of the stuff coming back into our house!
Monday my sister, Mom & I as well as Kaylee and my nephew Spencer will be driving to a town a half an hour away to shop. I’m sure it’ll be a blast, especially if I have a good amount of yard sale money to spend! LOL
Monday, May 25, 2009
4 more sleeps!
On our way home from doing some errands on the 11th, I was stopped by the police (RCMP) for not having a current MVI (motor vehicle inspection) sticker on my car and therefore got a $164 ticket. :( We seriously thought we had gotten it done before October of last year, but I guess we didn’t! So we had to rush that day to get our windshield replaced (it has a crack along the bottom that expanded during the winter) then get the MVI done. Otherwise, I wouldn’t have been able to use the car until it got done!
Kristen started at her new school on the 19th and is doing really well! She's loving living with my sister, BIL and nephews! She went to her first birthday party yesterday too! It was a pool party so she was really excited to go.
Saturday was Kristen's 7th birthday and we had a combined classmate & family party whereas normally we have them separate. Here are a few of the highlights from her Hannah Montana party :)
Sunday, April 26, 2009
We SOLD it!!
Saturday, April 18, 2009
I think it's actually here!
I still haven’t been in the mood to scrap much. I’ve been mostly spending my online time adding house things to my Kaboodle in case we DO get the house. We’ll be getting that stuff with any leftover money we have after putting the down payment on the house. I’ve also been spending my time on Facebook playing Bejeweled and also online playing a game sort of like it, called Jewel Quest. It has a twist to it, which makes it more interesting.
Monday, April 13, 2009
10 days
Our Easter weekend was pretty nice. We went up to my hometown on Friday and on Saturday we had the house inspected. Cost us $400 but as least we know there's nothing major wrong with it. If we don't end up getting the house though, we don't get our money back, which sucks. Sunday we had dinner with the family. Man was it loud! 5 kids is just too many...no wonder my grandmother declined the invitation to come! LOL I didn't get a lot of great photos, so I'll just show you this one...
Friday, April 3, 2009
House for sale!
We are going to see a house at 13 William St. tomorrow. It's just down the street from where I used to live and the house has been totally redone. Looks SO nice and it's within our price range of $170,000! It's in the perfect area, looks perfect (by way of pictures at least) too, so we are keeping our fingers crossed no one will get to it before we do tomorrow at noon. Mom and Dad are in Cuba, but we'll still be staying there overnight. Might as well since we are there!
Saturday, March 28, 2009
Kaylee dancing
Friday, March 27, 2009
We're getting closer!
Our new computer is supposedly going to be delivered on the 31st. I hope I don't miss it because normally they do deliveries right after I have to leave to go get Kristen at school so I miss them and then Barry has to go to the depot to pick the packages up. I can’t wait! Kristen can’t do anything on the other one because it’s so slow!
Monday, March 23, 2009
Fun weekend
Barry had his somnoplasty procedure on Thursday to help him stop snoring so we'll see how long it takes! I can't wait for him to move out of the basement so it can be the girls play room again!
Monday, March 16, 2009
Computer, tooth and fun
Kristen lost her 6th tooth yesterday morning! Saturday night I was looking at it and I just knew it was going to come out soon. Yesterday morning Kristen pushed on it with her tongue and out it came! We didn't bring it with us last night so the tooth fairy didn't visit her and now because she's still not home, she won't come either. So tomorrow I'm bringing the tooth when I go over there so hopefully she'll have a visit. :)
Yesterday was a nice day. It was beautiful out so after we went to Smitty's for brunch, we went to see DH's new work site, an after-care facility (care for the elderly) and then to DeWolfe Park to play on the equipment for a bit. Around 4 we left to go to the ILs for a turkey dinner then Kristen stayed there overnight. She called this morning to ask me if I can bring some extra stuff with me tomorrow (because my ILs are babysitting the girls while I go to the dentist) and said she is going to stay overnight until Thursday when I pick her up on the way to my hometown. She was going to stay Wednesday with my niece anyway, so she's just staying a few extra nights. It'll be nice not hearing the whining and arguing and tattling that comes when both girls are here. LOL
Thursday, March 12, 2009
Yeah...fortune teller I am
We decided that with some of Barry's tax money that we'd buy a new desktop computer for the girls since our old one is as slow as molasses. I went and ordered Dell's Studio Hybrid and was SO excited to get it, but I found out I didn't order a NIC card in it so there'd be no way to connect to the internet! I cancelled the order last night (which was $939) and went to reorder the exact same thing today and now the total is $1210! WTF? I guess it was on sale or something when I first ordered it...bummer. There's no way we're spending that amount of money on a computer that mostly just the girls will be using, so now I'm look at the Inspiron 518. It has a lot of power and HD space and will cost a few hundred less than the Hybrid. Too bad though...the Hybrid runs on 70% less power. :(
Monday, March 9, 2009
More sickies
Today my Crumpler "Status Belly" purse came in the mail! It also came with all this neat stuff too...love Crumpler products! My "Stamp Claimer" camera bag looks just like it did when I got it a year ago!
Thursday, March 5, 2009
Sick
Today Kristen was supposed to have a “Beach Day” at her school but she became sick early this morning and I had to keep her home so I told her we could have our own Beach Day…when I gave them a bath I tinted the water blue and said they could wear their bathing suits, they got to wear a t-shirt and shorts, then we blew Touchable Bubbles on the living room floor and for lunch they had a picnic
Kristen didn’t eat much, but she still had a great time.
(You can see a few pics on my 365 blog linked on the side bar)
So yesterday I got Kaylee's Dora DS skins in the mail and put them on...she is THRILLED with it! It looks really cool too! Now to get a Twilight one for my own. LOL
Here's the newest 365 layout!
Sunday, March 1, 2009
Gawjuss
Our bottom stairs are finally done being laminated and they look gawjuss!! SO much better than before! It took a few days to do it because my FIL only had enough clamps to do a few stairs at a time and the clamps had to stay on for a day before they could be put on the next ones. Here's my 365 picture for today:
Here's a before picture for reference :)
Not much going on today...we're supposed to be getting some snow and freezing rain into the morning, so I wouldn't be surprised if school was canceled. Although now that I said that, it probably won't be. LOL Have a great one!
Monday, February 23, 2009
Catching up
This weekend my FIL and Barry wanted to install the laminate downstairs so to get the girls out of their hair, I took the girls to my hometown to visit my parents for the weekend, which I normally do around my birthday anyway. We had family over for supper on Saturday night and had meatballs, rice, hash brown casserole & chicken divan then my mom made me a birthday pie, since I didn’t want cake. Here’s me blowing out the candle to my lemon meringue pie.
Here’s a few pictures of the new floor downstairs. Barry said he didn’t have enough time to take some “before” pictures.
My ILs are coming over tomorrow to laminate the stairs. Well, who’re we kidding…my FIL will be doing the stairs, my MIL will be cleaning my house. LOL
I ended up buying Kaylee her own DS earlier in the week. I figured I might as well since she never got any expensive toy with my Christmas money. She got a nice metallic rose one. now to find a copy of Dora saves the Mermaids DS game...looks like it's hard to find at a nice price. I know she'd love it thought because it's for younger kids so she'd understand what to do, just her other Dora game.
Kaylee is totally potty trained now. I hope I don't jinx myself, but she hasn't had an accident in bed yet, nor anywhere else! She's been diaper/pull-up free for about 2 weeks now! I just can't believe how quickly it happened!
Sunday, February 15, 2009
Valentine's Day
Thursday, February 12, 2009
A reprieve
So again, it’s been almost a week since I blogged last! Not a whole lot has happened in the past week…Kaylee is doing really well with her potty training. I think she’s almost done! She hasn’t worn a pull-up in 3 days, even at night! We are SO proud of her!
I actually did some hybrid stuff the other day! Now that I have ink for the printer, I wanted to try doing some…it was fun and pretty easy!